Skip To Main Content

Silsbee ISD Teacher Incentive Allotment Designees Receive more than $390,000 in TEA Funding, District Expands on Local Designation Plan

Silsbee ISD Teacher Incentive Allotment Designees Receive more than $390,000 in TEA Funding, District Expands on Local Designation Plan

May 24, 2024 – This year, nearly 400,000 was distributed to more than 35 teachers in Silsbee ISD through the Teacher Incentive Allotment (TIA) funding from the Texas Education Agency (TEA). This financial support recognizes the dedication and excellence of the district’s educators.

The journey began in the 2020-2021 school year when a committee of teachers and administrators developed and submitted a TIA Local Designation Plan (LDP) to the TEA for approval. With the TEA's approval, the 2021-2022 school year marked the district’s first Data Capture Year. After this year-long data collection, the state informs the district of the teachers awarded with the allotment.

Here’s a breakdown of the process:

·      Step 1:  

o   First year - Planning and approval process takes about 1 year. 

·      Step 2: 

o   Second year - Data Capture Year/Qualifying Year - data collected on student growth measures and teacher evaluations

·      Step 3:

o   Third Year - Validation Year/Designation Year - data for teachers in each eligible teaching assignment is submitted as part of the validation process.  Confirmation of teachers receiving a designation and allotment are announced in May.


Each year, Silsbee ISD builds on and expands its LDP for TEA approval. In April 2024, the TEA approved the district’s submission to include more teachers in the LDP. This means the Data Capture Year will begin during the 2024-2025 school year. Monetary incentive pay for the latest plan expansion will be released in April 2026.

But Silsbee ISD isn't stopping there. The district plans to submit additional subject areas and assignments for approval in April 2025.

So, what is included is the SISD LDP as of now? All previously eligible assignments remain included, with new additions to the plan as follows (* represents new eligible teachers):

  • All English Teachers K-12
  • All Math Teachers K-8
  • Algebra, Geometry, and Algebra II Teachers
  • All Science Teachers 2-8
  • *SS Teachers Grades 4-8, US History, World History, World Geography
  • *Government, Economics
  • *Pre-Kindergarten
  • *CTE Courses:
    • Advanced Manufacturing & Machinery
    • Animal Science
    • Automotive
    • Business Management
    • Criminal Justice
    • Culinary Arts
    • Design & Multimedia Arts
    • Digital Communication-Audio Video
    • Education and Training
    • Floral Design
    • Patient Care Tech
    • Project-Based Research (AVID)
    • Welding

Dr. Gregg Weiss, Superintendent of Silsbee ISD, shared his pride and appreciation for the district’s educators. "Our teachers' commitment to excellence and their relentless pursuit of student success have made this achievement possible. The Teacher Incentive Allotment funding not only recognizes their hard work but also motivates us to continue striving for educational excellence."

The Teacher Incentive Allotment (TIA) was established with the goal of providing outstanding teachers an accessible pathway to a six-figure salary. Unlike previous education programs, TIA is not a grant. Through approved local designation systems, districts can identify and designate outstanding teachers based on student growth and classroom observation. Teachers can earn one of three levels of designation – Recognized, Exemplary, or Master.

The 2023-2024 Silsbee ISD Designees are:

Laura Reeves Primary:

·      Ellen Byars – Recognized

Silsbee Elementary:

·      Christina Powell – Master

·      Teshauna Turk – Master

·      Jessica Dudley – Master

·      Noelle Ramsey - Master

·      Shanna Bonnette – Exemplary

·      Veronica Lightfoot – Exemplary

·      Melinda Lowe – Exemplary

·      Melinda Piper – Exemplary

·      Jennifer Gerngross – Exemplary

·      Cindy Neeb – Exemplary

·      Ann Neel – Exemplary

·      Mary Stivender – Exemplary

·      Lacy Castolenia - Exemplary

·      Katy Bailey – Recognized

·      Rachel Fuller – Recognized

·      Maggie Hawk – Recognized

·      Olivia Johnson – Recognized

·      Janice Marshall – Recognized

·      Carol Patterson – Recognized

·      Mary Richter – Recognized

·      Amanda Rulon – Recognized

·      Dominique West – Recognized

·      Denisha Dodis – Recognized

·      Madison Glass – Recognized

·      Monica Jones – Recognized

·      Amanda Pooler – Recognized

Edwards-Johnson Memorial Silsbee Middle School:

·      Judith Landis – Master

·      Alison Taylor – Exemplary

·      Mara Campbell – Recognized

·      Haley Morgan – Recognized

·      Casey Green-Sundgren – Recognized

·      Leslie Reline – Recognized

Silsbee High School:

·      Diane Guillory – Master

·      Leggy Burnthorn – Exemplary

·      Bridgett Peveto – Exemplary

·      Celess Dickert - Recognized

The inclusion of more teachers in the Local Designation Plan showcases Silsbee ISD’s commitment to recognizing and rewarding excellent teaching. This initiative highlights the district’s dedication to provide high-quality education and ensuring that exceptional educators are acknowledged and compensated for their invaluable contributions